“The world and its God-ignoring, all embracing secularism is pervasive. It invades my mind every day. What hope is there to have a mind filled with Christ except to have a mind filled with his Word?” (Piper)

Below is a series of quotes (from the books I am reading) which help me focus on the importance of the bible and prayer in my life. I hope these are encouraging. My experience says, it won’t happen (the enjoyment) until you do it. Here are the quotes:

“Sinless as He was, He was an example of diligent communion with His Father” (Ryle) and “If Jesus was himself the Word of God… and yet he depended on Scripture to deflect the temptations of the devil, so should we…..” (Piper)

“The hurrying, bustling times imperil our souls” (Ryle)

“The spiritually careless are inevitably prayerless” (Ryle) and on the similar note: “Most Christians neglect their bibles not out of conscious disloyalty to Jesus, but because of failure to plan a time and place and method to read it” (Piper)

“It is blessed to eat into the very soul of the bible until, at last, you come to talk in scriptural language, and your spirit is flavoured with the words of the Lord, so that your blood is bibline and the very essence of the bible flows from you.” (Spurgeon out of Piper) wow, how about if we talked to each other like that?

“In what way shall we attain to this settled happiness of soul? How shall we learn to enjoy God? How shall we obtain such an all-sufficient soul-satisfying portion in him as shall enable us to let go the things of this world as vain and worthless in comparison? I answer, this happiness is to be obtained through the study of the Holy Scriptures. God has therein revealed Himself unto us in the face of Jesus Christ.” and

“Now…I would give a few hints to my younger fellow-believers as to the way in which to keep up spiritual enjoyment . It is absolutely needful…we should read regularly through the scriptures, consecutively, and not pick out here and there a chapter. If we do, we remain spiritual dwarfs. I tell you so affectionately. For the first four years after my conversion I made no progress, because I neglected the bible. But when I regularly read on through the whole with reference to my own heart and and soul, I directly made progress. Then my peace and joy continued more and more. Now I have been doing this for 47 years. I have read through the whole bible about 100 times and I always find it fresh when I begin again. Thus my peace and joy have increased more and more.” (Mueller)

