I found some treasures in 2 Peter today.

Verse 7, 9. [H]e rescued Lot, a righteous man, who was distressed by the filthy lives of lawless men…the Lord knows how to rescue godly men from trials.

3:14 Therefore, beloved, since you look for these things, be diligent to be found by Him in peace, spotless and blameless...

A few things of note:

Elizabeth is so tired. The rehearsals for Titanic have been crazy, but with the show actually running now, three nights a week are rehearsal-free. Yay! You must check this television report out that she’s posted on her blog and look under the cut too, because there’s her famous moment; her head is half on the screen for 3 seconds! I saw the dressed rehearsal last week and I can’t wait till we see it for real on the final weekend.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mardi Keyes is a worker at one of the L’Abri centres in the States. Although I don’t agree with everything she teaches (she is a christian feminist) but I really got a lot from her teaching on the value of children/what the bible says about children when we were at English L’Abri.

This article on Homosexuality is incredibly helpful (after I’d worked out exactly which angle she was coming from) It is only about 4 pages.

If anyone finds/knows of a copy of her “Feminism and the Bible” please beg/borrow/steal it for me. I lost my copy years ago and I’d like to have another lookie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today on Nicole’s blog she linked to an article written by the 38 year old daughter of a prominent American feminist. The article was revealing particularly in the light of the insights Rebecca Walker shared and the sadness of her current relationship with her own mother. Consider some of these quotes:

Feminism has betrayed an entire generation of women into childlessness. It is devastating.

A good mother is attentive, sets boundaries and makes the world safe for her child. But my mother did none of those things.

I don’t want to hurt my mother, but I cannot stay silent. I believe feminism is an experiment, and all experiments need to be assessed on their results.

I feel terribly sad – my mother is missing such a great opportunity to be close to her family.

On a completely side issue, Michael (17) was behind me while I was reading this article online this afternoon. He could only see the image (of the author) and his comment was “She looks like a prostitute.” When I looked again, I was surprised how right he was. Just a generation or so ago, the haughty face, in fact, the whole demeanor of the woman certainly would have been considered boldfaced. Surprising how our standards change; I had to take that second look to notice.

