Just reading Matthew Henry’s commentary on James 4: 7-10. Although I really appreciate my Father’s discipline, at the time I have to say, I find the crushing (being made contrite, ie: crushed like powder) exhausting/trying/difficult. Therefore, I find the following quote very encouraging. Praise God that he persists with us.

“Submit to God. Submit your understanding to the truth of God; submit your wills to the will of his precept, the will of his providence. Submit yourselves to God, for he is ready to do you good. If we yield to temptations, the devil will continually follow us; but if we put on the whole armour of God, and stand out against him, he will leave us. Let sinners then submit to God, and seek his grace and favour; resisting the devil. All sin must be wept over; here, in godly sorrow, or, hereafter, in eternal misery. And the Lord will not refuse to comfort one who really mourns for sin, or to exalt one who humbles himself before him.”

